Mumbai Indians grab the title of first session of WPL, beat DC by 7 wickets

"VAN" (Sports Desk - 27.03.2023) :: All-round heroics from Mumbai Indians (MI) helped them outclass Delhi Capitals (DC) in a high-octane final of the inaugural Women's Premier League (WPL 2023) on Sunday, March 26. After Matthews, Wong and Kerr shared a total eight wickets between them to put Mumbai in strong position, Nat Sciver-Brunt scored a heroic fifty to power MI to a 7-wicket win over Delhi in first-ever WPL Final.

Chasing a paltry 132-run target for the win, MI lost quick wickets in the start but Natallie Sciver-Brunt batted right to the last over as she brought up her fifty in the crucial final to ensure her side, Mumbai Indians, are crowned inaugural winners of the historic tournament.

Earlier, late cameos from Shikha Pandey (27 not out from 17 balls) and Radha Yadav (27 not out from 12 balls) helped Delhi Capitals post a respectable total on board. Wickets were falling like a pack of cards for Delhi Capitals but Shikha and Radha played some outstanding shots during their last wicket stand, producing 52 runs off just 24 balls, to give their team a lifeline. The duo put up a solid 52-run stand for the 10th wicket to lift Delhi Capitals to a competitive 131 for nine against Mumbai.

Delhi Capitals won the toss and opted to bat first against Mumbai Indians. DC were off to a horrible start, collapsing from 74 for 3 in the 11th over to 79 for 9 after 16, thanks to lethal bowling spells from foreign bowlers Hayley Matthews (4-2-5-3), Isabelle Wong (4-0-42-3) and Amelia Kerr (4-0-18-2). It was the hard-fought 10-wicket stand from Radha and Shikha that helped Delhi cross the 100-mark. Shikha hammered three boundaries and one six during her innings, while Radha hit two fours and as many sixes in her knock.

Delhi Capitals Women (Playing XI): Meg Lanning(c), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Jess Jonassen, Arundhati Reddy, Taniya Bhatia(w), Minnu Mani, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey

Mumbai Indians Women (Playing XI): Yastika Bhatia(w), Hayley Matthews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Melie Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Issy Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Humaira Kazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque.


Leave your comment